Working the satellites

I always wanted to work the satellites as there seems to be something mystical about them. They aren’t called ‘the final frontier’ for nothing.

After talking to Wallace, VK4CBW, it became apparent that this would be quite feasible with a dual-band hand held transceiver and some satellite-tracking software on my computer.

My Boafeng GT-3TP would do fine so I downloaded and installed gpredict into my Surface Pro 4.

I proceeded to monitor my satellite of choice, SO-50, which I chose because it is an FM satellite. Wallace helped program in the receive and send frequencies into my hand-held; receive frequencies starting at 436.805 and progressing down at 5khz intervals to 436.780 would be needed to take the Doppler effect into account. Transmit frequency remains at 145.850.

screenshot-1   As the satellite came within range I headed outside and turned on my hand-held, with the squelch turned right down. Pointing the rubber-duckie antenna towards the ground, I put out a call .. and listened. Turning this way and that, I repeated the call until I heard Wallace reply.

I had made my first contact. The interesting thing about this was that his shack is only some 300m down the road from my shack, but we were communicating via a satellite in space. The pass only lasted around eight minutes or so; brevity is the name of the game here.

My next attempt would be with an Elk antenna, a specially-designed four-element log periodic antenna that Wallace will lend me.

2 thoughts on “Working the satellites

Leave a Reply

