Softrock RXTX v6.3 – First Smoke test

It’s always a little daunting but it’s also the part I like best – doing the smoke tests. Testing the power supply was really all about ensuring that the SMT caps had been soldered in correctly and that there were no solder bridges.

First I tested current draw with a 1K resister added to the positive probe of my DMM to restrict the current in case of a bridge. I applied 12V power and took readings.

3.0mA so all was in order.

Next I checked the power at the 12V, 5V and 3.3V rails: all fine there.

Now it was time to build the local oscillator.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Once all the components were in place, it was time for the next smoke test.

Once more I needed to check current draw but this time I did this with a 100 Ohm resister instead of a 1K Ohm one. The readings I obtained were excellent. I was now safe to test without the protection of the resister and again got great readings, all of which were under 80mA.

Next up was a frequency test. I set the dip switch on the PCB to 7.046 MHz and applied 12V. I then tuned my FT-817 to 28.184 MHz (four times the local oscillator frequency of 7.046 MHz) and set the rig to CW mode. After attaching a length of coax in the 817’s antenna socket and draped it close to the Softrock, I heard a good, solid tone.

Excellent. Another smoke test passed.

 

Leave a Reply

