Activating Mt Coree, VK1/AC-023

One of the things I like most about the ACT (Australian Capital Territory) is that it is bounded by no less than 48 summits that are all within easy reach. Note I said easy reach, meaning that they are not too far away from the city and not that they are easy to climb or to reach the summit.

Sunday morning 1 November was the day Tony VK1VIC and I decided to activate Mt Coree, a 4-pointer summit that straddles the ACT/NSW border.

This plaque let us know the significance of these summits.

This plaque let us know the significance of these summits.

Two things I found attractive about this summit; one was the fact that it is worth 4 points, the other is that it is accessible by four-wheel-drive vehicle all the way to the top.

Tony picked me up at 0840 and I packed my gear into his Holden Colorado 4×4. Because I wasn’t going to be doing a great deal of walking, weight wasn’t going to be a major factor on this activation. This meant I could take my Yaesu FT-817 (for voice work) as well as my Elecraft KX1 (for CW). My antenna was, as usual, my trusty Buddistick vertical.

The weather forecast was for showers and a possible thunderstorm, so we were hoping for the best as we headed out of the city towards the mountains. It is this unpredictability that I find so attractive with SOTA: you never quite know what you are going to get.

Once we left the bitumen the going got rapidly more interesting. The first few kilometers were on excellent gravel roads that had obviously been well cared for. Then as we got closer to Mt Coree, the going got decidedly rougher. I could see the necessity for a four-wheel-drive vehicle.

Hitting the dirt.

Hitting the dirt.

This was going to be interesting, I could tell.  Signs tell a lot.

Cliffs and mist ...

Cliffs and mist …

 The weather closed in even before we reached the summit.

Looking mystical ...

Looking mystical …

Dense cloud cover engulfed us, making it all but impossible to locate a good spot to erect my antenna. Then the wind picked up, reaching near gale-force strength I’m sure. I like to set up my station near some rocks that I can use for sitting on; I located something suitable very close to the trig beacon and lookout tower. I erected the Buddistick, ran the counterpoise and connected up the KX1. It tuned up beautifully, the readout telling me I had an SWR of 1:1.

Time for my fist call. For this, I chose 2m FM with my Yaesu FT-250 hand held as Andrew, VK1NAM, I knew, was waiting up Mt Stromlo ready for a summit-to-summit contact.  That done, it was time to concentrate on 40m. Keen to achieve activation at the very least, I decided to switch to the FT-817 and SSB. Contacts with VK7CW and VK1DI quickly followed. Then it was time to switch to the KX1 and CW. Even though I only had 1 watt at my disposal (power was being supplied by six AA cells) I made contact with VK2UH, VK7CW (again) and VK2IO.

By now we were getting really wet as the rain had started in ernest. To make matters worse, the wind was really howling and I had to hold the Buddistick up with one hand, so strong was it blowing. This was making operating my key really difficult, so it was time to call it a day.

Tony was of a similar mind, having achieved the required number of contacts as well, so we packed up and headed for the safety of his truck.

Another successful SOTA activation; one that was challenging to say the least. But that’s what I like about SOTA – every contact really is precious.

One thought on “Activating Mt Coree, VK1/AC-023

  1. Thanks Grant

    I’ve not done much ham radio stuff in the last couple of months, but it it is good to hear of your successes

    Tim VK4YEH

Leave a Reply

