Activating Black Mountain VK1/AC-042

Sunday 28 June arrived, cold and foggy. Early morning temperature in Canberra CBD was around 1 Degree C. It was the day I had decided to activate Black Mountain as it is one of the easy ones to get to. It is one of the tourist destinations and is on the bus route.

As I approached, I could see the Telstra Tower that is located on the summit just poking out of the clouds.

You can just make out the tower in the clouds.

You can just make out the tower in the clouds.

By the time I disembarked from the bus, the imposing tower was very impressive indeed. I wondered if all that transmitting gear would interfere with my signals, especially 2m FM.

20150628_110039

The Telstra Tower is an impressive sight from my operating position.

I set up my Buddistick antenna and tuned it for 20m and 40m. SWR came in at around 1.1 with the help of the built in ATU in my Elecraft KX1 so I was happy.

The Buddistick in position amongst the trees on the summit.

The Buddistick in position amongst the trees on the summit.

Operating CW at 15 words per minute is my favourite mode of operation. And with six internal AA alkaline batteries, the rig was putting out a constant 1W, which was fine for the job. I made contact with four stations; VK2CCW, VK2COX, VK3BYD and VK2YW. Then it was time to disassemble the station and head for home.

This summit has a brass plaque to let visitors know how high up it is.

Some useful information here.

Some useful information here.

Black Mountain only counts for 1 point, but that’s OK. I spend an enjoyable hour there using, and proving, my portable radio set-up.

 

Leave a Reply

