A case for my Elecraft KX1

With a view to the upcoming John Moyle Field Day, I decided to make a tough carry case for my Elecraft KX1, its paddle and power lead. I had just the thing in mind: a metal case that housed a cordless drill that had long since given up the ghost.

I started by removing the padding material from the case and cleaning it up.

The case with its old internals ripped out.

The case with its old internals ripped out.

I then got hold of some spare foam material I had lying around gathering dust in my shed and cut it to size.

A modelling knife worked fine.

A modelling knife worked fine.

Once all the cutting was done and the foam pushed nicely into place, all that remained was to insert the components and see how it looked.

Everything in place, and looking good ready for the field.

Everything in place, and looking good ready for the field.

Now all that remains is to try it out.

Leave a Reply

