Building a 2-transistor regenerative receiver

I have always been interested in homebrewing and using parts from my junkbox. Not only is it fun, it’s also the right thing to do from an environmental or recycling point-of-view.

Regenerative receivers have also always interested me as they are a step up from the crystal set.

I came across a wonderfully simple design on Peter Parker’s website (http://home.alphalink.com.au/~parkerp/gateway/nonov99.htm) and couldn’t resist.

Anyway, to cut a long story short, I couldn’t get the thing to work. I called in the help of fellow hams Wallace VK4CBW and Jan VK4EBP; a fresh set of eyes usually does the trick and in my case it certainly did. Turns out I made a basic mistake and connected up one wire the wrong way round.

The receiver on its own produces fine audio with headphones. I wanted more, so I pulled out a little 0.5W Amp Module that I constructed and fitted into an Altoids tin some time ago. Then I connected up a small loudspeaker that I mounted in a nice wooden enclosure and now I have room-filling audio.

Wonderful little simple project that brings back the magic of radio to me.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I used Manhattan construction for the components.

I used Manhattan construction for the components.

The audio amp fits well into an Altoids tin.

The audio amp fits well into an Altoids tin.

 

