WSPR at last on my iMAC

Well, it has been a long time coming: I am up and running on WSPR using my iMAC. I have been battling to achieve this for many months now, trying my Linux operating system with limited success, and searching for a decent OS X software package to run it on my iMac.

This evening I hit gold when I stumbled upon George Smart’s web site quite by accident. George had successfully produced a Mac version of the WSPR software and made it available for download. All I needed to do was hit the download button and move the resultant file into my applications folder, and start up WSPR. It couldn’t have been easier.

Here’s the web site: http://www.george-smart.co.uk/wiki/wspr

Anyway, I fired up the program, tuned in my FT-450 (wound down to the min 5W the rig will go to) and waited to see what would happen.

Imagine my delight when I started decoding signals! Imagine my delight, too, when I started being copied by stations as far away as America!

My set up here is the FT-450 connected to my iMac via a SignaLink USB interface. Works like a charm.

The action on my iMac after the initial flurry of contacts. I am impressed.

5 thoughts on “WSPR at last on my iMAC

  1. Hi Grant,

    Congratulations, pity it took so long to sort out.

    Regards Paul VK4ZBV.

    vk4jaz wrote: > WordPress.com > Grant McDuling posted: “Well, it has been a long time coming: I am up > and running on WSPR using my iMAC. I have been battling to achieve > this for many months now, trying my Linux operating system with > limited success, and searching for a decent OS X software package to > run it on” >

Leave a Reply

