Gearing up for the next 6m opening

Until now, I have relied on a Cushcraft Ringo 6m vertical antenna but being horizontally polarised, I have been missing out on the best of the 6m openings. So I decided it was time to do something about it.

I needed a beam.

The first thing I needed was a rotator, and here Wallace, VK4CBW came to the rescue. He had a new Kopek AR-1002 light duty rotator that was surplus to requirements. Next I needed a lightweight beam. I decided to start off a little modestly and bought a Diamond A502HB 50Mhz Yagi from Strictly Ham. The instructions were all in Japanese so I had to download an English version from the internet.

The beam went together without a hitch. I checked the SWR with the use of Wallace’s antenna analyser; all was good to go.

The beam on a temporary mount for SWR checking.

I mounted the rotator and beam on the end of a J-pole type antenna mast that I screwed into the eaves of the roof outside the shack window. A good length of RG213 coax completed the installation. A quick on-air check with VK4CBW and Allan VK4WR proved all is in order. Now to wait for the band to open.

The 6m Yagi mounted on the roof.

One thought on “Gearing up for the next 6m opening

Leave a Reply

