2014 Winter UHF/VHF Field Day

This weekend I packed up my portable gear, checked off my check list and headed out to the summit of Mt Coot-tha (grid square QG62LM) to participate in the annual Winter VHF/UHF Field Day.

My intention was not to chase any of the awards but merely to try out my new portable station that consists of an FT-817, and a 2m quarter wave ground plane antenna. The rig would be powered by a 2 a/h battery.

I found an unoccupied BBQ area, parked the car and set up my station. I would be concentrating on working SSB on the 2m band only. Power output would be 5 Watts.

 

My gear set up on the BBQ bench.

My gear set up on the BBQ bench. Note the antenna on a short pole.

I also had with me an Wouxun 2m/70cm hand held and a Yaesu FT-250 hand held (both FM units) just in case.

I spent two hours operating and made 11 contacts, so it was a case of mission accomplished.

The battery did well; to start with there was just on 13v and on completing there was 11.86v.

The battery did well; to start with there was just on 13v and on completing there was 11.86v.

Next time I will take along an antenna that will allow me to work the 70cm and 6m bands as well.

Leave a Reply

