Building and using a CW Touch Paddle

I have just completed building a CW Touch Paddle, Model P3K, that I obtained from http://www.cwtouchkeyer.com. The kit took an impressive 6 days to arrive Down Under and was excellently packaged. The instructions were also first class.

The PCB took about half an hour to assemble and test. Worked first time. What did take a little longer was construction of a suitable enclosure.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The little jiffy box, with a central piece of wood for screwing the keys to.

I chose to mount my kit in a plastic jiffy box, to which I cut a few slots in the front panel for the keys to protrude through. I chose real keys as I thought that would be a rather neat thing to do.

All I had to do next was to insert the completed PCB, and begin operating.

Fitting the PCB and wooden panel with the keys attached.

Fitting the PCB and wooden panel with the keys attached.

Even though this little assembly is very small and light, because there is absolutely no movement in the paddles, the assembly doesn’t move about on the bench when sending code. It’s amazing, even though it isn’t weighted down. And it performs fantastically, too. Perfect code every time.

The completed Model P3K Touch Paddles.

The completed Model P3K Touch Paddles.

2 thoughts on “Building and using a CW Touch Paddle

  1. Hi Grant just looked you up on QRZ. great article in PW, I am just off to get 30 us dollars then a trip to the post office to send for the keyer kit, I had seen them before but your acticle spurred me into action 73 ED

Leave a Reply

